Feiler Hunts Down Prunty To Capture E.H. Wolf and Sons BP Memorial Day 80 At Slinger

Super Late Model Winner Dave Feiler with EH
Wolf Sponsor
By John Wiedemann
Slinger, Wis., May 29,2011 - Dennis Prunty led the first fifty-eight laps but Dave Feiler was able to chase him down and capture the caution free Super Late Model victory at Slinger Speedway in the E.H. Wolf and Sons BP Memorial Day 80. Brad Keith (Late Model), Brad Hetzel (Thunderstock), James Swan (Midwest Sportsman) and Brandon Tackes (Slinger Bee) were also feature winners on Sunday night.

“It’s nice to actually finish a race,” said Feiler. “We’ve had some troubles here. Those guys were putting the heat on. I didn’t know how fast we should pace coming up through the field. This is pretty exciting.”

Talking about chasing down Prunty, Feiler said, “Dennis (Prunty) gets around here really good, he’s a clean racer. It’s great to race with these guys here.”

Super Late Model Action 42 Prunty
40 Feiler 40 Lepak
Dennis Prunty started the eighty lap Super Late Model feature on the outside of the front row and charged to the lead by the second turn. Gaining a half straightaway distance between himself and the rest of the field by the middle of the race, the lead belonged to Prunty for the next fifty-eight laps. Meanwhile, starting in the middle of the pack, the two blue number forty cars of Dave Feiler and Jeremy Lepak started working forward. With thirty laps in the books, both Feiler and Lepak worked past second place, Conrad Morgan.

“I felt bad for the fans for a little while, it seemed like a boring race,” said Prunty. “Then I looked in my mirror and he kept coming and kept coming.”

At the halfway point of the race Feiler had caught up to Prunty’s rear bumper. Fourteen laps later, Feiler made his move on the outside of Prunty to take the lead. Feiler left Prunty to battle with Lepak for second. Prunty ran the high groove to hold back Lepak. As the leaders ran through traffic Prunty reeled Feiler back in and was within a car length when the checkers flew. Starting a holiday tradition, the win was the first for Feiler since Labor Day of last year. Prunty finished second followed by Lepak, Morgan and Eric Fransen.

Late Model Feature Winner Brad Keith #48Steve Apel won the dash from the front row and Jeremy Lepak set fast time in qualifying with a lap of 11.413 seconds.

Pat McIntee led the Late Model feature unchallenged from the drop of the green until the caution flag flew with fifteen laps to go. On the restart, Brad Keith used the outside groove to get past McIntee and began to stretch his lead. Five laps later the yellow flew again to bunch up the field. One more caution period would again place Keith and McIntee side by side to battle for the lead. Keith was able to get away on each restart and put distance between himself and second place McIntee.

As Keith took the white flag and raced towards the checkers, Chris Ratajczyk got turned around coming out of turn four. Jerry Mueller and Reagan May spun to avoid and the final caution flag was displayed. The race was declared official with Keith taking the win. Wayne Freimund was able to get past McIntee with five laps left in the race and finished second followed by McIntee in third. Dave McCardle and Jake Vanoskey rounded out the top five.

Thunder Stock Feature Action 66 Adam
Peschek and Winner Brad Hetzel
The dash victory was captured by McCardle and fast time was set by Freimund with a 12.492 second lap.

Jay Shambeau charged to the lead on the opening lap of the Midwest Sportsman feature and held the position for the first twenty-three of the thirty-five laps on tap. While second through fifth stacked up behind him Shambeau held off the challengers. With Jimmy Evans on the top side and James Swan on his bumper, Shambeau had a fight on his hands. Showing the most patience a race car driver can muster, Swan followed behind leader Shambeau until the race neared ten laps to go. Swan dove to the inside of Shambeau on the backstraight and held his ground to take the lead in turn three. From then on it was clear sailing in open track and Swan streaked to the finish to take the victory. Ryan Farrell, Jimmy Evans, Brian Holtz and Scott Shambeau all got by Jay Shambeau in the final laps to capture top five finishes.

Jay Shambeau captured the dash and James Swan was the quickest in qualifying with a lap of 12.665 seconds.

Lisbon FDP World Trade Center I - BeamBrad Hetzel started on the pole and stayed in front to capture his first feature victory in the Thunderstock event. But it wasn’t easy.

Three caution periods slowed Hetzel’s charge towards the checkers and Adam Peschek, also looking for his first feature win, provided a challenge in the final laps of the race. While Hetzel led, Peschek picked off cars one by one to move into second with just over half of the race completed. After the second caution period, Hetzel and Peschek lined up side by side for the restart. Peschek took the lead on the outside but had problems getting loose in turn four, allowing Hetzel to reclaim the lead. One more caution flag flew when Jesse Knutson dumped fluids in turn one. Peschek didn’t get a good jump on the final restart and Hetzel took off with John Daley on his tail. When the checkers flew, it was Hetzel in front taking his first feature win. Daley, Andy Welter, Peschek and Bernie Leonard completed the top five.

Turning a lap of 13.720 seconds, Daley set the fast time for the Thunderstocks and Ken Schraufnagel won the dash.

Brandon Tackes Slinger Bee Feature Winner #24Brandon Tackes charged from his ninth place starting position to take the lead halfway through the Slinger Bee feature race. A hard charging Nick Wagner started at the tail of the field but caught Tackes to battle for the final laps of the race. Tackes was not to be denied and held off Wagner to take the victory. Marty Tackes, Tom Helmers and Erica Knutson completed the top five.

The dash win went to Marty Tackes and Wagner laid down a lap of 15.581 seconds, the fastest in Bee qualifying.

Scott Goetzke ran away with the Figure 8 race and, a familiar name to Slinger Speedway fans, Scott Ascher won the Westbury Bank Speedway Guest Car race.