By Dan Margetta

Slinger, Wis., May 29—South Eastern Wisconsin Short Track Hall of Famer Conrad Morgan notched yet another win in his impressive career as he drove to victory in the E.H. Wolf and Sons Memorial Day 75-lap super late model feature Sunday night at the Singer Super Speedway.

After taking the lead near the halfway mark, Morgan held off a hard charging Alex Prunty his first super late model feature victory of the season while for Prunty, it was the super late model rookie’s second consecutive runner-up finish.

Ryan DeStefano and Fred Winn brought the field to the green flag with Nick Wagner and Mitch McGrath behind them and all spent time near the front of the field as caution flags slowed the action on lap seven and lap 22. DeStefano was out front following the lap 22 slow-down over Conrad Morgan, Gary LaMonte, and Alex Prunty, while Dennis Prunty, Jeff Holtz, and Steve Apel lurked close behind. DeStefano paced the event until just before halfway when Morgan made his move to take the lead while Alex Prunty and Holtz moved into third and fourth respectively as Dennis Prunty, Apel, and LaMonte battled for fifth place behind them. Hard racing between Dennis Prunty and Apel on lap 35 drew another caution flag and both took the restart from the rear of the field, leaving DeStefano out front over Morgan, Alex Prunty, and Holtz. Morgan went to work on the restart and a lap later, grabbed the lead on lap 36 while Apel and Dennis Prunty began to work their way forward again. With Morgan out front over Alex Prunty, Holtz was able to take third place from DeStefano who faded a bit as Apel, Dennis Prunty, and LaMonte all were able to get by for position. Morgan would not be denied in the final laps and he drove under the checkered flag to take the victory, leaving Alex Prunty to settle for second place for the second consecutive week. Jeff Holtz advanced from deep in the field to finish third while Steve Apel and Dennis Prunty rounded out the top five. Gary LaMonte finished in sixth place ahead of Ryan DeStefano and John DeAngelis Jr. in seventh and eighth respectively while Grant Griesbach and Brad Keith completed the top ten finishers.

Brad Keith won the 30-lap super late model semi-feature over Jeff Holtz and John DeAngelis Jr. Jerry Mueller and Tim Lampman rounded out the top five. Super late model heat race victories were recorded by Dan Church, Dennis Prunty, and Mitch McGrath. Gary LaMonte was the fastest qualifier with a lap of 11.328 seconds.

Jordan DeVoy won his second late model feature event of the season as he held off Tyler James to win the 40-lap main event. Mike Held finished third while Mike Meyerhofer and Al Stippich rounded out the top five. The event was stopped momentarily when Jack Stern’s car made hard contact with the turn one wall before coming to rest and erupting in flames. The Slinger Speedway safety crew brought the blaze under control and Stern emerged from the incident uninjured. Al Stippich and Jakob Hassler each won a late model heat race and Jordan DeVoy was the fastest qualifier with a lap of 12.236 seconds.

Joe Shelby stopped Andy Welter’s win streak in the Area Sportsman division as he held off Welter to capture his first career feature victory in the 30-lap main event. Welter finished a strong second while Jacob Schraufnagel crossed the finish line in third ahead of Paul Wagner and Ken Au in fourth and fifth respectively. Adam Bleskan won the Area Sportsman heat race and Andy Welter was the fastest qualifier after circling the speedway in 13.119 seconds.

Kyle Stark won the 25-lap Slinger Bee feature over Jakob Hassler and Nick Schmidt. Tom Berens finished fourth and Jared Deming rounded out the top five in fifth place. Steve Zoromski won the Slinger Bee semi-feature over Paul Reagles and Carol Ostovich. Marty Tackes and Bill Ostovich Jr. finished in fourth and fifth respectively. Slinger Bee heat race victories went to Steve Zoromski, Nicole Mueller, and Nick Schmidt and Kyle Stark was the fastest qualifier with a lap of 14.439 seconds.

Willy Van Camp won the Figure 8 event over Scott Goetzke and Rick Bruskiewicz. Ryan Lovald was fourth while Russ Lorbiecki and Shane Becker rounded out the field in fifth and sixth respectively.