By Dan Margetta
Slinger, Wis., Sept. 20—Dilan Wenzel took the lead with ten laps to go and drove to victory in the 30-lap Super Stock feature Sunday afternoon at the Slinger Super Speedway in the Future’s program while Aaron Cain, Brandon Junget, and Phil Malouf each captured main event victories in the Hobby Stock, Four Cylinder, and International divisions respectively.

Dave Meyerhofer and Wenzel led the super stock field to the green flag and while Meyerhofer led the opening lap, Erik Turner shot from his fourth starting position to second place by the completion of lap one with Phil Lehl, Neal Sannes, and Wenzel following. Wenzel had the momentum built up and he advanced forward into second place by lap four just before the caution flag waved when the cars of Jesse Knutson and Sawyer Effertz became hooked together in turn one, with the front clip of Effertz’s car ripping away and getting stuck in Knutson’s rear bumper. Turner led Wenzel and Lehl on the restart and as racing resumed, behind the top three, Allen Trudell entered the top five by lap eight. While Turner held off Wenzel for the top spot, Trudell continued his march through the field, grabbing fourth place on lap 14 and then third five laps later. On the next circuit around, Wenzel made the winning move, passing Turner for the lead as Trudell also raced around Turner for second on lap 21. Wenzel could not be caught in the final laps as he drove under the checkered flag to score the victory, leaving Trudell to settle for second. Lehl crossed the stripe in third place while Turner and Aaron Cain finished fourth and fifth respectively. Super stock heat race wins were picked up by Erik Turner and Dave Meyerhofer while Allen Trudell was the fastest qualifier with a lap of 13.347 seconds.

Aaron Cain held off Al Stippich and Justin Poenitsch to win the exciting 30-lap Hobby Stock feature.

Dustin Ward and Kyle Stark battled for the lead in the early going while Bernie Leonard, Ben Gehring, and Nathan Fick raced for spots in the top five. Leonard worked his way up to the third spot by lap six and the caution flag waved a lap later on lap seven when Kale Peterman and Fick tangled in turn one. Ward and Stark renewed their battle for the lead as racing resumed while Justin Poenitsch, Aaron Cain, and Al Stippich all gradually maneuvered their way forward, racing just outside the top five when the next caution appeared on lap ten when Stephanie Losiniecki’s car came to a halt on the front straightaway with mechanical problems. Ward maintained the lead on the restart while Gehring was able to edge his way by Stark for second as Poenitsch raced into third with Cain and Stippich not too far behind. Poenitsch took over the second spot on lap 15 and a lap later rocketed around Ward for the lead while Cain and Stippich charged to second and third respectively by lap 18. Poenitsch enjoyed a fairly comfortable lead which quickly evaporated a lap later when Ward spun in turn four, collecting Gehring and Ryan Farrell in the process to produce the caution flag. Poenitsch chose the outside lane for the restart, leaving the inside to Cain. As the green flag waved, Cain and Poenitsch battled hard for the lead, racing door to door with Cain gaining a slight advantage each lap. Cain finally made the pass for the lead on lap 19 as the leaders ran up on slower traffic and a lap later, Stippich moved into second, using the inside line to pass Poenitsch for the spot. Cain, Stippich, and Poenitsch all raced nose to tail in the closing laps, spectacularly weaving their way through lapped traffic as the laps wound down. Stippich made a final charge for the win in the closing laps, but he was unable to catch Cain who drove to the win. Poenitsch took the checkered flag in third while Chris Blawat and Kyle Stark rounded out the top five finishers. Cain and Stippich also each scored hobby stock heat race wins while Cain also set fast time at 13.642 seconds.

Brandon Junget raced to the lead on lap 21 of the 30-lap Four Cylinder main event and raced to the victory over Mark Johler and Allen Dillon.

Dillon set the pace in the beginning laps over David Schmidt and Matt Chesney while Steve Privett and Dave Gauger Sr. held down fourth and fifth place respectively. Privett took over the third spot on lap seven while Dillon continued to lead over Schmidt and Chesney. Brandon Tackes and Dave Wacek spun in turn two on lap eight to bring out the caution flag as Gauger’s car lost a wheel on the same lap, forcing him to exit the speedway. Dillon held the lead as racing resumed while Joe Lang and Brandon Junget weaved their way forward from deep in the field, entering the top five by lap 14. Junget raced into third place on lap 16 and advanced to second on lap 20. A lap later, Junget was around Dillon for the lead as Privett, Schmidt, and Mark Johler were third through fifth place respectively. Johler was the driver on the move in the late stages, charging all the way to second place by lap 27 as Junget extended his lead. Junget drove to the win followed by Johler and Dillon. Privett and Tim Richter rounded out the top five finishers.

Phil Malouf won the International 20-lap feature over Mark Sontag Jr. and Cole Yach.

Brian Brummond led the opening laps while Kyle Stark and Gary Stork raced for second. Stork took the lead on lap five while Malouf and Sontag charged into the top five. Sontag advanced his way to second place a few laps later with Malouf racing right behind him in third. Stork continued to lead at the half way mark as Malouf raced to second place ahead of Sontag. Malouf raced into the lead on lap 16 as Stork looped around in turn four as the field raced by. Malouf was not challenged from there and he drove to the win over Sontag while Cole Yach and Brian Brummond took the checkered flag in third and fourth place. Erik Long finished fifth.

Tim Jendrycki won the 15-lap Four Cylinder semi-feature over Joe Jackels and Tim Schweitzer. Nick Schmidt finished fourth and Shane Becker was fifth. Four Cylinder heat race victories were captured by Joe Lang, Erik Long, and Tim Jendrycki. Phil Malouf won the International heat race and also set fast time at 14.731 seconds.

The afternoon closed with the Spectator 100 Enduro which was won by Mark Sontag Jr. as he took the checkered flag just ahead of Kyle Stark and Al Stippich.