January 22, 2016

by Fay Hendricks
Six Slinger Speedway champions were celebrated Friday night as the historic track ended its 67th year of racing. The night was filled with fine food, friendship and fun as all enjoyed the company of their extended racing family. Co-promoters Todd Thelen and Rodney Erickson greeted all and thanked everyone for another great season of racing. Awards and door prizes were greatly appreciated by those in attendance, and many basked in the warmth of friendship long after the ceremony ended. Slinger can be proud of the fact that nineteen of its champions have been inducted into the Southeastern Wisconsin Short Track Hall of Fame, as well as track owner Wayne Erickson and flagger Dick Witt. By earning his third consecutive super late model title, Steve Apel joined four other Slinger champions and Hall of Fame members by achieving that hallmark at least once.


By Dan Margetta
Slinger, Wis., Sept. 13-Alex Prunty stormed to the lead in the waning stages of the 40-lap late model feature Sunday afternoon at the Slinger Super Speedway and drove off to a convincing win to seal the deal on his second track championship.

By Dan Margetta
Slinger, Wis., Sept. 6-Brad Mueller returned to victory lane at the Slinger Super Speedway for the first time since 2013 Sunday night by holding off Steve Apel to win the 100-lap Labor Day Weekend super late model feature while Apel’s second place finish earned him the 2015 super late model track championship.

Bartolotta Fireworks - Two Weeks Remain in Other Divisions

(Slinger, WI)—Defending track champion Steve Apel and Dennis Prunty will do battle once again, in a winner take all showdown, Sunday night, September 6, at the Slinger Super Speedway as the super late model championship will be decided between the two drivers.