Apel Scores Victory at Slinger Speedway

Slinger, Wis.–July 24–Steve Apel drove to his first feature win of the season Sunday night in the 60-lap super late model main event at the Slinger Super Speedway.

John DeAngelis Jr. And Brad Mueller led the field to the green flag with Mueller charging out to the early lead. Alex Prunty dogged Mueller from second until he was able to make the pass for the lead on lap 11 in turn two. Behind the top two DeAngelis held third with Chris Blawat and Brad Keith close behind. Mike Egan’s spun car in turn 2 on lap 21 produced the caution flag with Alex Prunty leading over Mueller, Blawat, DeAngelis, and Steve Apel who moved into the top five. Mueller was on the button from the inside on the restart and he retook the top spot as racing resumed with Prunty falling to fourth behind Blawat and Apel. By the halfway mark, Apel worked his way into the lead, bringing Blawat with him into second. Mueller held down third whole Dennis Prunty joined the leaders in fourth just ahead of Alex Prunty in fifth. The caution flag flew on lap 37 for Brad Keith’s loose car and Apel maintained the lead on the restart while Dennis Prunty charged by Blawat for second. Ryan DeStefano clipped the grass near turn three on lap 46 and the caution waved again. Apel maintained the lead as the green flag appeared and Dennis Prunty tried to challenge but his car got out of shape and he saved it entering turn one on lap 48 as Blawat moved to second. Blawat pressured Apel for the lead but couldn’t make a pass as Apel drove to his first feature victory of the season. Chris Blawat finished second and Dennis Prunty was third. Alex Prunty finished fourth and Mitch McGrath had his best finish in fifth.

Tim Lampman, Dave McCardle, and Alex Prunty each won super late model heat races and Chris Blawat was the fastest qualifier at 11.397 seconds.

Ryan Farrell won the late model feature in a caution free event. Mike Held finished second and Ryan Gutknecht was third. Brian Holtz and Jordan DeVoy rounded out the top five. Ryan Gutknecht and Brian Holtz each won late model heat races and Mike Held was the fastest qualifier at 12.297 seconds.

Paul Wagner won the Area Sportsman feature over Jacob Schraufnagel and Brad Warthun. Andy Welter and Ken Au rounded out the top five. Paul Wagner also won the Area Sportsman heat race and Jacob Schraufnagel set fast time at 13.050 seconds.

Jakob Hassler won his second consecutive Slinger Bee feature over Tom Berens and Steve Zoromski. Jayden Buckley finished fourth and Brandon Tackes was fifth. Slinger Bee heat races were won by Brandon Tackes and Heather Stark while Jakob Hassler set fast time at 14.469 seconds.

Kyle Quella won the Sport Truck feature and Rick Bruskiewicz won the Figure 8 race.