Stout Field Lining up for Chance to Claim a Slinger Speedway Gem

26th Running of the Kulwicki Memorial up Next as Night Racing Returns

(Slinger, WI) After a scheduled week off, racing returns to the Slinger Super Speedway, Sunday evening, May 20th. The Uptown super late models will headline with the 26th annual version of the Alan Kulwicki Memorial. They’ll be joined by late models, super beez, Slinger bees and figure 8’s as the high banked quarter mile oval begins its evening race tradition after opening the 2018 campaign with a pair of afternoon affairs.

The event honors the 1992 NASCAR Cup Champion and former Slinger Super Speedway track champion who perished in a plane crash in 1993. Matt Kenseth was a 21-year-old regional hot shoe when he scored the first Kulwicki Memorial race, at Slinger, in 1993. Kenseth’s win in the Kulwicki Memorial was part of a racing resume that would help lead the Wisconsin racer to the upper reaches of NASCAR and ultimately a Cup Series championship of his own.

In the 2017 version of the Kulwicki Memorial, Conrad Morgan made history by becoming the oldest driver (69-years-old) to ever score a super late model win at the high-banked quarter-mile oval.

Bookmarked between Kenseth and Morgan, then up and coming racers Andrew Morrissey; Al Schill, Jr; Jimmy Watson; Brad Mueller and Jeremy Lepak have scored wins in the Kulwicki Memorial as have veteran track champions Tony Strupp; Al Schill and Lowell Bennett. In addition, Cindy Peterson became the first woman to win a super late model main event at Slinger with her Kulwicki Memorial triumph in 1999.

The three most recent Slinger Speedway super late model track champions-Gary LaMonte; Chris Blawat and Steve Apel will be looking to score their first Kulwicki Memorial wins as will 2016 Kulwicki Driver Development Program National Champion, Alex Prunty. The 2012 Slinger super late model track champion, Dennis Prunty will attempt to become the first three-time Kulwicki Memorial champion. Dennis has won the first two super late model features of the 2018 campaign.

All of the previous Kulwicki Memorial winners will be invited back to Slinger Speedway, for a special pre-race ceremony.

Gates open Sunday evening at 4:45 p.m. with qualifying at 5:00. Opening ceremonies are set for 6:30 with racing to follow.

Alan Kulwicki Memoiral Winners: 1993 Matt Kenseth, 1994 Tony Strupp, 1995 Al Schill Jr, 1996 Conrad Morgan, 1997 Jimmy Watson, 1998 Jaime Wallace, 1999 Cindy Peterson, 2000 Eric Fransen, 2001 Charlie Thon, 2002 Eric Fransen, 2003 Brad Mueller, 2004 Andrew Morrissey, 2005 Nick Schumacher, 2006 Al Schill, 2007 Rain, 2008 Jeremy Lepak, 2009 Jaime Wallace, 2010 Dennis Prunty, 2011 Rain, 2012 Rain, 2013 James Swan, 2014 Lowell Bennett, 2015 John DeAngelis jr, 2016 Dennis Prunty, 2017 Conrad Morgan.

Slinger Speedway is located off of Highways 41 and 144 at 280 Cedar Creek Road in Slinger, WI. For more information on upcoming events visit our web site at or call the track office at 262-644-5921.

There are select advertising and sponsorship opportunities as well as company and group outings available for the 2018 season. For more information, call: 262-370-0440,, or visit our web site at: